The Flemish Peace Institute is an independent
institute for peace research at the Flemish Parliament.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Peace Institute consists of 19 voting members from different corners of the civil society in Flanders. The members have a mandate of five years and are nominated by the Flemish Parliament. In order to guarantee the independence, the broad basis and the necessary expertise of the Institute, the Decree stipulates a well-balanced representation of civil society.

Annemie Charlier
Axel Delvoie
Dirk Rochtus

Diane Verstraeten
Raf Burm
Reinilde Van Moer

Nominated by the political parties

Els Dirix
Jan Boulogne
Peter Wouters
Nominated by the Socio-Economic Council of Flanders (SERV)

Prof. Dr. Ann Pauwels
Prof. Dr. Berber Bevernage
Prof. Dr. Tom Sauer
Nominated by the Flemish Interuniversity Council (VLIR)

Bram Vrancken
Georges Spriet
Kristin De Winter
Nominated by the Flemish peace movements

Filip Reyniers
Khalid Benhaddou
Mieke Van Hecke (Chair)

Co-opted members

Elke Devroe, director
With advisory vote